top of page

Belladonna - NetGalley Review


Belladonna

By Adalyn Grace

Published August 30, 2022


★★★★☆


Signa is an orphan that has never found her place in the world. Passed around from person to person, her inheritance was her badge of honour, with much of her inner-self being lost in the exchange.


She discovers parts of herself as she steps into the world of investigating her mother's death. Soon, the work of uncovering the mystery causes her to meet her ever-present shadow, Death, and form an unlikely alliance. Together, they work through the mystery and discover parts of themselves that they couldn't even fathom.


This is a hauntingly beautiful book that drops you in the middle of a gothic period drama saturated in mystery, murder, and the macabre. It's a perfect addition to any spooky season list, and has little tastes of Phantom that I love OH so much.


First off, can we talk about the cover. It's SO stunning and even the UK version is *chef's kiss*


I will ALWAYS love gothic fantasy and horror. A few years ago, I'd probably turn away from them, but since reading some fantastic books by equally fantastic authors, I now reach for them whenever they come across my suggestions.


I relate a lot to Signa - maybe not on the whole "my inheritance is my identity and I hate it" front, because, let's face it, I don't have one! However, I can wholly relate to not feeling like you belong in a family. I understand the longing of so desperately wanting to belong that I change my inner-design to meet the expectations of others.

"Do not change the parts of yourself that you like to make others comfortable. Do not try to mold yourself to fit the standards someone else has set for us."

The descriptions in the book were amazing and I truly felt transported to the misty grounds of Thorn Grove. The dankness of the manor, the isolation of the garden and surrounding areas, and the slightly off-kilter social events at Thorn Grove lend well to the feeling of seclusion.


Character development is well done. Signa becomes an island to herself as she learns to navigate the new social environment that she is set in, and the reader gets to watch as she starts to find herself as she spends time with Silas and as her relationship develops with Death.


Adalyn does well with organically infusing paranormal and fantastical abilities into her plots. As with All the Stars and Teeth, she subtly transforms the story to include a piece of magic. As Signa's proximity to Death changes, so does her hold on her own power over death and the world between worlds.


Overall, very well written and a happy improvement from Adalyn's first duology. It does end on a massive cliffhanger and the introduction of a new character, but I can't wait to read more of Signa's story!


Where to find Belladonna:


As always, please support your local retailers when and where possible. Thanks!


Foxglove is the conclusion to this gothic inspired

duology and is set to release Summer 2023!


Comments


bottom of page