top of page

Constellations of Scars - NetGalley ARC Review


Constellations of Scars

by Melissa Eskue Ousley

Released June 9, 2021


★★★☆☆


Amelia has lived a sheltered life, constantly living under the protection of her controlling mother in fear of revealing her deepest secret: a mutation that could be exploited by society. In attempt to hide her, Amelia becomes a prisoner in her own home with no free will. Finally, she breaks free of this captivity to find a new life: an escape to a seaside circus, of sorts. Will she find peace with a self-built family? Or will her past and mutations continue to haunt her?


This book is a happy mix of Grimm Fairy Tales and the Barnum & Bailey Circus. There are constant themes similar to Rapunzel, intertwined with new-found family tropes and a twist in the middle.


This book was a pleasure to read. The prose was easy, and I read it quickly, nestled between daily tasks and expectations at work. Though some of the plot was predictable, I still found an escape in the pages, even experiencing some heart-racing moments that pushed me forward. I enjoyed the setting in the Pacific Northwest, as I hail from West Coast Canada - the scenery set a sense of mysticism that was appropriate for the enigma surrounding Amelia's condition.


I will admit, however, that the crisis point in the book hit me a little different. It disoriented me slightly to the story that had been established and drew me out of the events that were happening. The quick flip from re-imagined fairy tale to a dark and insidious plot threw me for a loop that I wasn't necessarily ready for. This shift caused the end of the book to feel rushed - I think it would've benefitted with a longer ending and better conclusion to some events.


All in all, a very good read. I'd be interested to see what other books Melissa has written, as her writing style is enjoyable for a leisurely read.

Comments


bottom of page