top of page

Hunted Girl - NetGalley ARC Review


Hunted Girl

by Carolyn Ridder Aspenson

Released June 1, 2021


★★★★☆


This series is like TV crime shows fused to a page - the plot is driven, unpredictable and easily devoured. With a strong female lead, it provides a great idea of what small-town crime fighting might look like when mixed with drug cartels and revenge.


I read the first book of this series to better acquaint myself with the characters and events in order to be prepared to read and analyze Hunted Girl. I was not disappointed.


Carolyn writes her characters extremely well, creating three-dimensional personalities for not only the leads, but also to the supporting roles. I felt like I could understand what they were feeling, and most reactions and interactions felt very believable. She displayed controversial subjects involving gender equality, PTSD, grief, rage and deep emotional turmoil.


I enjoyed the plot - it took me out of the predictable police drama and into a web of revenge. It was difficult to separate the two plotlines, allowing for genuine shock at discovering how the puzzle pieces fit together.


This is a perfect read that wants their crime fix without being glued to a screen. Very well written and I look forward to reading the next book in the series.

Comments


bottom of page