top of page

My Darling Husband - HCC Influencer Review


My Darling Husband

Kimberly Belle

Publication Date: December 28, 2021


★★★★☆


How much is your family and reputation worth? For Cam Lasky, it's $734,296. This amount is set by a masked invader who holds his wife and children captive in their home. Can he race against the clock to gather the funds and save his family? Or is it already too little, too late?


Jade Lasky must think on her feet to defend her two children as their captor taunts them in this breath-holding and nail-biting thriller that keeps you on the edge of your seat.



I am so fortunate to be able to review my first book as a HarperCollins Canada influencer! This is my first EVER physical Advanced Readers Copy and I am thrilled (hehe... get it?) I was able to read it. This book was completely un-put-downable to the point where my husband had to physically remove it from me to send me to bed - Kimberly and I had a good giggle about this when she commented on my Instagram story.


I love thrillers - 2021 was the first year I've ever really jumped into reading them, and I will never regret that decision! I've read my fair share, as I eclipse 200 books read for the year!


Based in Atlanta, Georgia, this book focuses on the Lasky Family: Cam is an award-winning chef that runs a steak empire while his wife, Jade, works and manages the daily lives of their two children: Beatrix, a head-strong violin prodigy, and Baxter, a curious and all-too-trusting six-year-old.


My Darling Husband is told through multiple perspectives. It starts in an interview format between a news host and Cam. Throughout the book, these interviews provide a sliver of context as they reveal corners of truth that can either point your assumptions in the right direction or lead you completely off-track. Cam is visibly frustrated and made to be the villain - but the truth isn't always what it seems.


Alternating between Jade's point-of-view in the home, Cam's on the outside and, eventually, the masked invader, the audience is brought through an emotional obstacle course that is prone to provide proverbial whiplash. As a mother myself, I could feel the heightened angst in both Jade and Cam, as Baxter reminds me of my own little boy who is more than willing to make friends with everyone.


I do find thrillers have the habit of becoming predictable: the aggressor has some sort of personal connection to their captives - Are they a scorned lover? Someone who lost in an investment? Or is this completely random? The way that the author used misdirection to keep the reader guessing provided a fresh experience with this thriller. Some pieces of My Darling Husband were somewhat predictable, but the infusion of the children, mixed with the snapshots of the aftermath in the interview keep you on your toes in trying to figure out whodunnit.


This is an incredibly fast-paced read that isn't too graphic or inappropriate. I believe any thriller lover will thoroughly enjoy this read. It does tug on your heartstrings as you stand alongside Jade in her attempts to protect her children, but I believe it creates great opportunities for lessons-learned in the real world and how to protect your children in the future.



Comentários


bottom of page