top of page

Real Forever - Honest ARC Review



Real Forever (Snowbrook Series, Book 1)

by Everly Prince

Publication date: April 27, 2022


★★★★★


What happens when a plan to protect your family launches you into an unprecedented path towards love and acceptance?


Madison finds out first hand when she finds her sister in trouble. Through plans of blackmail to get her sister her due, she meets a closed and confident man who strives to please his parents and work according to their plan. Can their haphazard plan result in a happy ending? Or will their differences set them apart?




TikTok is both my bane and my boon. I have a huge list of ARCs I need to read, but lo and behold there came this book that solicited a cinnamon roll man, one-bed trope and angst. I’m here for it. Did I mention the author is Canadian?


First of all, it was a breath of fresh air to read a book by a Canadian based in Canada. And not Vancouver or Toronto or some maritime coastal town. Set in the heart of Manitoba - near where my dad was actually born - this story tells us about small-town Canada in a refreshing perspective. Not to mention that when talking to the author, she was super stoked to see a fellow Canadian jazzed about devouring her story.


The greatest thing about this book is how it deals with sensitive subjects, including, but not limited to mental health, grief, death, spousal abuse, divorce, narcissism, drug addiction and alcohol abuse. I find some books will throw those subjects in for clout or as a plot device, but the way Everly deals with them is so perfect - and a way I would’ve loved to have seen when I was a kid. I’ll get to that a little bit later - and yes, there will be some spoilers as it’s hard to capture the depth of the situation without them!


For the most part, I found this story believable and realistic. Yes, it had some typical tropes (one-bed, I’m looking at you), but it was done in such a way that respect of conscious decision was so present. Miscommunication is another undertone, but that is part and parcel of most relationships, at least at the beginning. That being said, the spice is *chef’s kiss* and I want to bring Jake and Madison into my life and wrap them in bubble wrap to preserve the perfection.


Also, if there’s a story that targets and undermines the corrupt MLM world, I am HERE FOR IT! Just sayin’… Not to mention the fact that there are some not-so-subtle jabs at organized religion which tickled my fancy just a bit.


The mental health portrayal is amazing. The author perfectly captures the experience of dealing with anxiety and panic attacks. I truly felt like she extracted my own experiences and translated them to the page. There is a healthy understanding of coping mechanisms, as well as the in-depth characterization of the inner-voice of a person sitting in crisis. It shows a lot of character in an author when they can present an extremely vulnerable situation with respect and grace - brava!


Everly has a way of dealing with painful moments. At one part, she has a scene where an adult is explaining the concept of divorce to a very young child. The gentle approach, void of animosity or hate to the non-preferred party, is so soft and delicate that it tugged at my heartstrings. There was a depth of understanding of the human psyche by the author that it created such a perfect and compassionate interaction. My inner child reached out to this scene, desperately wanting to go into the past and have the same experience in my own life. I didn’t come from a broken home in the sense of divorce - my parents remained married until my dad’s death - but I did come from a place of high and volatile emotions and the gentleness remained fairly absent. Even after my dad’s passing, I still feel the disconnect of understanding, always grasping at straws on how to belong in the tumultuous relationship with my mom. I feel like Everly would be an absolutely amazing parent and friend, and I would love a chance to sit and soak in her presence to even get a hint of this humanity.


Another thing that ran particularly poignant with me was how the situation of overly controlling parents was dealt with. For Jake, he lives and breathes the expectations of an overbearing mother. This closely mirrors my own expectations as a young adult, and the plans my own parents had for me without me being able to voice my own wishes. Don’t get me wrong, I’m incredibly thankful for the opportunities my family gave me, but my first few years of post-secondary were difficult with constant parental judgement when I didn’t go down the path that was expected of me. I could tell you stories of the drama surrounding my university enrolment even before I started my first year - but that’s for another day.


Of course, as stated earlier, there are some sensitive subjects that are touched on in this story. Couple that with the spice and I would say this would be great for young adults. It gives a gracious and meaningful introspection of human behaviour, and carries valuable lessons on how to deal with mental crisis. I honestly cannot wait for book two - hopefully coming soon!


Find Real Forever on Kindle Unlimited!


Comments


bottom of page