top of page

The Audacity of Sara Grayson - NetGalley ARC Review


The Audacity of Sara Grayson

by Joani Elliott

Released May 25, 2021


★★★★☆


“I have no doubt your feelings are real, but that doesn't mean they're telling you the truth.”


I picked up this book as a NetGalley ARC, honestly not sure what to expect. Let me tell you how pleasantly surprised I was.


I tried reading it a month earlier to this review but just couldn't sink into the plot - however, I do believe a pertinent aspect of this has to do with life circumstances and not with the truly enjoyable story written by Joani.


I connected with this book on so many levels. I grieved with Sara, as I recently lost a parent. I could feel the same sense of loss and abandonment, with an ounce of blame for the parent that had passed on. I'm also a creative who deals with imposter syndrome regularly - this often stops me from doing what I truly enjoy, since the small voice in my head whispers "you're not enough" on a daily basis. I saw a lot of similarities and reflections of myself and my journey in Sara's trials and frustrations


Joani truly writes with a painter's hand - her words describe and emote at an artistic level that helps submerge you into the plot and setting. I felt the beauty of the Maine coastline, the familiarity of Sara's mother's home and the sense of belonging when surrounded by comforting smells and loving memory.


I felt the plot drove forward well, with anticipation for the next event and surprises that were not predicted. The ending was left to interpretation - a chance for the reader to fill in the blank and an easy segue into a potential sequel.


Sara's experience of writing a debut novel easily mirrors what I imagine to be a very thrilling and terrifying experience - and I believe Joani can speak to this first hand with this amazing read.


Brava for a job well-done on such an inspiring debut novel. I look forward to reading more!

Comments


bottom of page