top of page

The People We Keep - NetGalley ARC Review


The People We Keep

by Allison Larkin

Release Date: August 3, 2021


★★★★☆


We have the people we get to keep, who won’t ever let us go. And that’s the most important part. That’s what’s true.


April is sixteen living in small-town USA in a motorhome her dad won in a bet. She failed out of school and her relationship with her dad isn't great. What she does have is music, a borrowed guitar and a wanting to belong - but how far will she have to go to find a world that accepts her for her? She steals a neighbour's car and departs on a bittersweet journey of loss, belonging and finding a home within herself.


Before picking up this ARC, I had heard a lot of amazing things about it - of course, this always makes me cautious when reading a book that can sometimes be pushed into the realm of being overhyped, BUT I was pleasantly surprised.


I've always been a sucker for the found family trope. As an adoptee myself, I understand the feeling of not having roots in the life you were raised in, and the ultimate desire to push beyond the boundaries of your small town world to discover more of yourself. Following April on her journey through the eastern US mirrored mine a bit, as well as the fact that I, too, am a singer-songwriter that found a lot of my livelihood through gigs and music opportunities.


I did find that the book was oddly paced. Some aspects were long and drawn out, providing ample detail to her experiences; however, most of the time I felt like the reader was pushed quickly through small blinks of her life. I would get softly established in her new place - her new comforts - and immediately I would be whipped into whatever direction she chose to go in next. Or even just cut away to a scene months later that left me a bit detached.


Part of me understands the need to run when things get tough, but as April continually runs from every situation, I started to grow a little frustrated and impatient with her actions. By the end I was relieved to see that she finally had individuals talk sense into her growing roots.


All in all, this was a very quick and pleasant read. I found that Allison brought a lot of the struggles of a young adult to the page from a really refreshing perspective. She also broached difficult topics eloquently. Even particularly raw experiences are kept pure and sensitive, making this read appropriate for a broader audience.


This novel would be a great read for teens, young adults and beyond. It sheds light on those difficult relationships teens may have with parents, school, romantic interests, and making big decisions as they move forward in the world.

Commenti


bottom of page